Closing of the 142nd season of the Liepāja Symphony Orchestra | LIEPĀJA SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA

Closing of the 142nd season of the Liepāja Symphony Orchestra

12/05/2023    19.00
Concert Hall GREAT AMBER, Great Hall, Liepāja

At the end of the 142nd concert season, the Liepāja Symphony Orchestra will offer the audience two musical highlights of the early 20th century. The concert will feature Richard Strauss's symphonic poem “Macbeth” and Sergei Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No.3 featuring Anton Lyakhovsky as soloist.

Sergei Prokofiev is often called one of the best composers of the 20th century. Presence of his works in Guntis Kuzma's first season as the chief conductor of the Liepāja Symphony Orchestra was also significant, since at the opening of the 142nd concert season, Guntis Kuzma's suite from the ballet “Romeo and Juliet” was played and highly appreciated, while at the end expressive vitality will flow from Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No.3, where the composer has managed to retain balanced cooperation between the soloist and the orchestra. Unlike many examples of Prokofiev's predecessors' piano concertos, the orchestra goes beyond the role of accompaniment to take a very active part in the performance of this piece.

Concert soloist Anton Lyakhovsky is no stranger to the Latvian public, because some time ago he participated in the Liepāja International Star Festival, where he performed in a piano duet with Toms Ostrovskis and was engaged in other projects as well.

“I really like warm, hospitable Latvian public and good concert halls. Besides, it's always nice to come back to work with musicians you've already met: when you are willing to create something together, personal contact is very important,” Anton Lyakhovsky admitted in an interview to Latvian Radio 3 “Classics” radio station.

Richard Strauss is the author of ten symphonic poems, and these serve as an unusually diverse acknowledgement of the genre in musical expression and style, symbolically marking the boundary between the romantic era of the 19th century and the modernity of the 20th century.

In composer's search for new ways of expression, his symphonic poems, initially influenced by Richard Wagner, reflect the fascinating timbral effects of late romantic orchestral sound, expanding the composition of the orchestra and using different types of instruments.

Along with the two foreign master-minds, music by the exiled Latvian composer who started school in Liepāja, one of our most prominent modernists, Gundaris Pone, who is a laureate of a number of international composition competitions and who was a professor of music theory and composition at the State University of New York at New Paltz, will be played. His work La Serenissima is a love confession for the composer's much adored Venice and for the Italian woman named Mariolina, who became Pone's spouse. It is likely that in Latvia La Serenissima will be played for the first time.

Anton Lyakhovsky (piano)

Liepāja Symphony Orchestra
Conductor Guntis Kuzma

Sergei ProkofIev (1891–1953) Piano Concerto No.3 in C major, Op. 26
Gundaris Pone (1932–1994) Seven Venetian Portraits “La Serenissima”
Richard Strauss (1864–1949) Symphonic poem “Macbeth”, Op. 23


The Concert is supported by the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Latvia, the State Cultural Capital Foundation, Liepāja City.




Pupils, students, disabled persons, pensioners – 2 euros
3+ family card holders – 30%
Teachers, lecturers and medical workers – 20%

Groups (10 or more people) – 20%
When purchasing group tickets online, please send an e-mail to sales@lso.lv

Apsilankius koncerte privaloma pateikti nuolaidą patirtinantį dokumentą.

Tickets are available here