Opening of the season of Liepāja Symphony Orchestra

17/09/2022    18:00
Concert Hall GREAT AMBER, Great Hall, Liepāja

The start of the 142nd concert season marks a new stage in the life of the Liepāja Symphony Orchestra: Guntis Kuzma will become the chief conductor, and so the versatile musician has decided to start his journey in cooperation with the oldest symphony orchestra in the Baltic States with the premiere of brilliant Arturs Maskats’ Triple concert “Dances of Childhood Butterflies”.

Together with the Liepāja Symphony Orchestra conducted by Guntis Kuzma, three outstanding soloists will perform on the stage of the Concert Hall “Lielais dzintars” –  organist Iveta Apkalna, flautist Dita Krenberga and pianist Reinis Zariņš. 

At the opening concert of the season you will also hear the work by Juris Karlsons “El Cid. Dances of Life and Death”, premiered in 2008, and a suite by Guntis Kuzma from Sergei Prokofiev's ballet “Romeo and Juliet”.

Iveta Apkalna
Dita Krenberga (flute)
Reinis Zariņš (piano)

Liepāja Symphony Orchestra 
Conductor Guntis Kuzma

Arturs Maskats (1957): Triple Concerto for Organ, Flute and Piano “Dances of Childhood Butterflies”.
Juris Karlsons (1948): “El Cid. Dances of Life and Death”
Sergei Prokofiev (Prokofiev, 1891-1953): Suite from the ballet “Romeo and Juliet”

Tickets are available here