CANCELED! Maestro and Margarita Balanas

16/10/2021    17:00
Rundāle, Rundāle Palace, White Hall

Due to the emergency situation declared by the Cabinet of Ministers, attending the concert in person for spectators has been canceled. The Liepāja Symphony Orchestra concert with Margarita Balanas will be broadcasted live on internet free of charge on Friday, October 15, at 7 pm in the video section of our website.

In order to receive a refund, please return the purchased tickets to any "Biļešu paradīze" box office. Visitors who have purchased tickets online are already automatically refunded.

Sorry for the inconvenience!

Your Liepāja Symphony Orchestra


Liepāja Symphony Orchestra together with the expert of the ancient music maestro Andris Veismanis are willing to offer their listeners a rich programme comprising Bach, Kraft, and Schubert’s music. Anton Kraft is one of the most brilliant cellists of his time, a close friend of Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven, and the author of a virtuous and skilful concerto for cello which will be performed by the bright and fantastic Latvian cello soloist Margarita Balanas. Whereas, Franz Schubert’s Symphony No. 8 is thought to be the first romantic symphony and is dominated by a rather interrogative mood. Another puzzle accompanying this piece is also the unanswered question about the author’s idea of making this symphony a four-movement cycle—there are some music researchers who think that “Rosamunde” Overture was actually meant to be the fourth movement for the Unfinished Symphony, and merely due to a need Schubert used it as an interlude for the play.

Soloist — Margarita Balanas / cello

Conductor — Andris Veismanis
Liepāja Symphony Orchestra

Johann Sebastian Bach — Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major
Anton Kraft — Concerto for Cello and Orchestra in C major
Franz Schubert — Symphony No. 8 or the Unfinished Symphony
Franz Schubert — Overture “Rosamunde”

Tickets are available here