LIVE / 140th season closing concert of Liepāja Symphony Orchestra

14/05/2021    20:00
Concert Hall GREAT AMBER, Great Hall, Liepāja

Liepāja Symphony Orchestra and the chief conductor Gintaras Rinkevičius will mark the closing of their 140th season together with the brilliant pianist Vestard Shimkus by performing truly romantic and ethereal music at the unique concert hall Great Amber in Liepāja. Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 4 is the least played of all his piano concertos and reveals a rather unusual influence of jazz and 20th century modernists on the creative work of the romantic composer. Brahms' 1st Symphony, on the other hand, captivates with its tragic but at the same time noble sound.

Vestard SHIMKUS / piano

Gintaras Rinkevičius / conductor
Liepāja Symphony Orchestra

Sergei Rachmaninoff — Piano Concerto No. 4 in G minor
Johannes Brahms — Symphony No. 1 in C minor

The concert will be available on Brittish agency HarrisonParrott's online concert and event live-streaming platform Virtual Circle.

Standard ticket price is 10 EUR. In addition, there are also 10 exclusive VIP tickets, the owners of which will be able to meet in a virtual conversation with pianist Vestard Shimkus after the concert.

!!! For the visitors, who purchased tickets to live concert - in order to receive a refund, we offer to return the purchased tickets at any "Biļešu paradīze" box office, which is currently open (see here: For visitors who have purchased tickets online, the money is already automatically returned.