The unique amber sound of the Orchestra has originated in a unique place at the Baltic Sea – in Liepāja.

LIVE / 140th season closing concert of Liepāja Symphony Orchestra

14/05/2021   20:00
Concert Hall GREAT AMBER, Great Hall, Liepāja


Liepāja Symphony Orchestra and the chief conductor Gintaras Rinkevičius will mark the closing of their 140th season together with the brilliant pianist Vestard Shimkus by performing truly romantic and ethereal music at the unique concert hall Great Amber in Liepāja. Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 4 is the least played of all his piano concertos and reveals a rather unusual influence of jazz and 20th century modernists on the creative work of the romantic composer. Brahms' 1st Symphony, on the other hand, captivates with its tragic but at the same time noble sound.

Vestard SHIMKUS / piano

Gintaras Rinkevičius / conductor
Liepāja Symphony Orchestra

Sergei Rachmaninoff — Piano Concerto No. 4 in G minor
Johannes Brahms — Symphony No. 1 in C minor

The concert will be available on Brittish agency HarrisonParrott's online concert and event live-streaming platform Virtual Circle.

Standard ticket price is 10 EUR. In addition, there are also 10 exclusive VIP tickets, the owners of which will be able to meet in a virtual conversation with pianist Vestard Shimkus after the concert.

!!! For the visitors, who purchased tickets to live concert - in order to receive a refund, we offer to return the purchased tickets at any "Biļešu paradīze" box office, which is currently open (see here: For visitors who have purchased tickets online, the money is already automatically returned.

The outstanding Russian composer and pianist Sergei Rachmaninoff (Сергей Васильевич Рахманинов,1873-1943) is best known for his 4 piano concertos and a work for piano and orchestra “Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini”. The composer continues the course of Russian melodic romanticism started by Peter Tchaikovsky, remaining true to this aesthetic until the end of his life, despite the prevailing currents of modernism, expressionism and experimentalism.

His Piano Concerto No.4 the composer writes partly in America and partly in Western Europe after an intense, almost ten-year concert period. The composition echoes the winds of jazz and impressionism often heard in America, but does not miss the bright melodicity characteristic for Rachmaninoff. The history of the opus is not simple: after its premiere in 1927, it received harsh criticism, and also the composer did not seem to be satisfied with what he had achieved. Before the composition was published in 1928, the second version was created, but shortly before his death, in the summer of 1941, the author created the third version, which is also the most generally performed today. The three parts of the concert form a rounded cycle, where the outer parts are lively, fiery, full of unexpected turns. Such a frame for the pearl of the composition - the middle part, which captivates with melancholy, rich colors of harmony and charming jazz winds.

The balance between emotionality and the rational in the music of the prominent German composer Johannes Brahms (Johannes Brahms, 1833-1897) has always been relevant and carefully measured. Created at a time of turbulent romanticism in European music, Brahms' music still exudes classical clarity and orderliness, but we also feel a true, emotionally liberated message in it.  Contemporaries call the composer both conservative and innovative. The constructive nature of Brahms' music, although rooted in the legacy of classicism, has served as a source of inspiration for many composers of future generations.

The composer's contribution to both vocal and instrumental chamber music and symphonic music is significant. Brahms is the author of four symphonies and four concerts, and has also written serenades and overtures for the orchestra. Work on the First Symphony began as early as 1856, but it is possible that the author's self-criticism and the high expectations of his contemporaries are the reason why the composition is not completed earlier than 14 years later. Over time, the symphony undergoes far-reaching changes until it becomes a voluminous piece, in which the handwriting of an already mature composer can be unmistakably heard. The symphony is based on a classic four-movement cycle, the first movement of which is extensive, dramatic and dynamic. In contrast, the second and third movements offer a refreshing contrast: lyrical, tender expression in the slow part and a light, sunny grace in the Allegretto part. The final of the symphony is significant. It begins with an almost terrible, warning introduction, the atmosphere of which is interrupted by the sounds of a French horn, followed by a solemn chorus. The main theme of the final is often associated with Beethoven's Ode to Joy, and indeed - here it gives a determined comfort and when transforming leads to a triumphant ending.