A Little Night Music. The Sounds of Liepāja in Rundāle Palace | LIEPĀJA SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA

A Little Night Music. The Sounds of Liepāja in Rundāle Palace

03/08/2024    18.00
Rundāle, Rundāle Palace, White Hall

On 3 August at 18:00 the Liepāja Symphony Orchestra invites you to come together in music in the White Hall of Rundāle Palace, where music composed by the Viennese classics Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Ludwig van Beethoven will be played under the direction of the conductor Guntis Kuzma, complemented by the Concerto grosso written by the Latvian contemporary composer Arturs Maskats. 

Mozart's “A Little Night Music” is one of composer's most popular pieces also much fancied by the audience, the melodies and harmonies of which are familiar even to those who take absolutely no interest in classical music. This serenade will fascinate you with its light and graceful elegance, in which the composer's imagination has gathered a rich palette of themes, creating light, elegant, lyrical and sophisticated secular music.

Concerto grosso composed by Arturs Maskats is a modern interpretation of the baroque concerto grosso genre, where groups of instruments or soloists interact with the entire orchestra, and in Maskats’ composition classical traditions intertwine with bright and dynamic melodies, creating an exciting and unusual listening experience. 

On a massive scale Beethoven's Symphony No.6, bearing the subtitle “Pastoral Symphony or Memory of Life in the Countryside” given to it by the composer himself, will be played in the White Hall of Rundāle Palace, and it is the composer's tribute to the beauty and peace of nature. Inspired by his own long walks in the great outdoors, Beethoven depicts various sounds of nature and landscapes in the symphony, creating an emotional and picturesque musical story. 

Sandis ŠTEINBERGS (violin)
Ēriks KIRŠFELDS (cello)

Liepāja Symphony Orchestra
Conductor Guntis KUZMA

Wolfgang Amadeus MOZART (1756-1791) “A Little Night Music”
(1957) Concerto grosso
Ludwig van BEETHOVEN
(1770-1827) Symphony No.6 (“Pastoral”)

The Concert is supported by the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Latvia.  


The seats in the White Hall of Rundāle Palace are not numbered.


Pupils, students, disabled persons, pensioners – 10 euros
3+ family card holders – 30%
Teachers, lecturers and medical workers – 20%

Groups (10 or more people) – 20%
When purchasing group tickets online, please send an e-mail to sales@lso.lv

When attending the concert, the visitor must present a document certifying their eligibility to a discount.

Tickets are available here