Pēteris Plakidis is 75 / “Rimbenieks” South Kurzeme Music Festival

26/08/2022    19:00
Concert Hall GREAT AMBER, Chamber Hall, Liepāja

In August, “Rimbenieks” Music Festival jointly organized by the Liepāja Symphony Orchestra and the local government of South Kurzeme Municipality, which is returning to delight the audience for the second time already, is touring South Kurzeme with 14 different concerts.

The works of Pēteris Plakidis cover a wide range of compositions of different type in almost all musical genres. In his symphonic music, Plakidis has combined the stylistics of neoclassicism and romantic perception of the world in quite an interesting manner, while choral music and vocal chamber music mostly represents the area of psychologically dramatic expression, and often includes some lyrical intimacy. 

“Although the composer is very versatile in musical terms, a classical balance is clearly evident in all periods of his creative work. The musical imagery is permeated by the pursuit of psychological specificity and polyphonic line of thought, which is often originally synthesized with lyrical, emotionally intense revelations,” according to the information compiled by the Latvian Academy of Music. 

For many years, Plakidis played music in a duet with his spouse, the prominent Latvian chamber singer Maija Krīgena (mezzo-soprano).

In 1991, Plakidis, together with cellist Ivars Bezprozvanovs and clarinetist Eric Mandat (USA), established “The Transatlantic trio”, which gave concerts in Latvia, Great Britain and the USA.

In 1996, the composer received the Great Music Award for his work “Variations for Orchestra”. 

Madeleine Dring (1923-1977): Trio for flute, oboe and piano
Mārīte Dombrovska (1977): “Winter Diary” – a tribute to Ilona Meija, Pēteris Endzelis and Dzintra Ehrliha
Pēteris Plakidis (1947-2017):
·       Two Sketches for oboe solo
·       Two variations for cello solo
·       “Pastoral”
·       “Shadow Dances” for flute and piano
·       “Canon and Animated film” for flute, oboe and piano
Dace Aperāne (1953): “Dreamscapes” for flute, cello and piano
Jānis Lūsēns (1959): “Astoria” for flute, oboe, cello and piano

Ivars Bezprozvanovs
Ilona Meija (flute) 
Pēteris Endzelis (oboe)
Dzintra Erliha (piano)

Supported by: the Ministry of Culture and South Kurzeme Municipality 

Tickets are available here